Alternative Fashion

Yes, You Can Wear Lolita! But Consider The Following…

Hello, everyone!
I am writing this in response to a YouTube video by the user Branther. Although I agreed with a good portion of her points, I am putting this post in a little bit of a different angle.

This is in a question and answer format, much like the original video.

Why is Lolita so Expensive?

Here’s the thing: Lolita can be an expensive fashion. But I believe that anyone can be a lolita and wear the fashion, as long as they are willing to save up, invest in both time and money, and also are willing to improve and grow. The price of the outfits can add up, but there are ways to save.

But again, Why Is Lolita So Freaking Expensive?

Lolita is a fashion with many different parts: a petticoat, blouse, dress, shoes, and of course, accessories! The dresses often are made with high amounts of detail and are known for their high quality materials.  The materials in turn, factor into the cost.  I am going to make guides in the future on my blog on getting good deals for Lolita clothing (it is possible), so stay tuned!

Do I have act like _____ to be a Lolita?

Lolitas can come from all walks of life and all sorts of personalities. You can curse like a sailor, be sugary sweet, or be cool and collected. There’s many personalities I am missing, but you get the idea. Although lolita fashion is associated with demure and dainty looks, your personality does not have to match up to the clothes. But at the same time, when you put yourself out there, keep in mind that you are representing the fashion–manners and courtesy towards others is as always, important.

Are all Lolitas Friendly? 

Just like any community, there are friendly people and not-so friendly people. But in my experience of being a Lolita, I’ve had an overall positive experience–lolitas tend to be very welcoming because the more frills means the merrier!

Do I have to ask for Constructive Criticism? 

Be aware that if you post your outfits publicly you are open to getting all kinds of feedback online.  This feedback at times, can be rather blunt, but I believe it can help you improve further.  If you show others your fashion, whether it be in the real world or online, having a thick skin is important. But if you are a little on the sensitive side, do not let this deter you from wearing the fashion!  I myself am a sensitive person, but find that frills give me so much strength and have made me a stronger person.  I highly recommend asking for con-crit on threads because that will help you grow as a wearer of the fashion.

Do I have to wear brand to be a Lolita?

No, you don’t have to wear brand to be a Lolita! As long as you follow the rules of the fashion, you’ll be golden.  Indie brands are also a great alternative, as well as shopping for second hand items.

Is Lolita the fashion for me? 

Lolita is a fashion that takes dedication and time, as you search for potential pieces, and also dedication in terms of finances, as well. If Lolita fashion is something that you see brings you happiness and makes you feel beautiful, it would be a worthy investment.

But where do I buy lolita?

There’s a handy guide on Tumblr with dozens of shops–check it out! As for how to use a shopping service for places such as Taobao, I may make a guide on that in the future. I personally use the website, Yoybuy , and find that it is very user friendly.

Leave a Reply

